The Doctor Will See You Now

Today my brother had to again take an enforced day off work due yet another train strike. We decided on a quick pint in town and to each try and get a street shot.
I'm still very much learning my way around street photography and regularly ask for my brother's help as he has much more experience  taking these kind of shots than I do. It was actually him who spotted this backdrop just across the road from the Market House where we were imbibing our pints.
After we'd finished our drinks we stood outside and waited to see what passers-by would enter the frame created by the background. After a couple of minutes the little girl dressed in black with fabulous red hair, holding her doll, and her mum appeared heading towards the passageway between the poster on the outside wall of our local theatre and the phone box you can see on the right. I had my street shot!
I loved the juxtaposition between the poster saying "The Doctor Will See You Now" and the fast food advertisement on the side of the phone box. It gave me much amusement (I am quite easily amused!) when I looked back at my image later and realised  that the poster is not actually referring to encouraging you to consult a real doctor but to a theatre tour by the actor Alan Fletcher, who starred in Neighbours, looking back on his nearly three decade stint as Ramsay Street's most famous fictional medical practitioner! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.