Recycling entrepreneurship

We may not have the sophisticated municipal recycling programme of  international cities, but this guy, and many like him, with their home modified bike and trailer combo have done an excellent job for decades of turning trash into cash. This collector has our bins on his regular route and I found him dumpster diving as I walked Rufus this afternoon. His trailer is an ingenious recycling centre in itself and heaven knows how he manages to pull it around safely - but he does. They do. It's a familiar site here. 

I finally had my first swim of the season today.  Gloriously hot and sunny, late afternoon with chores done, it was great to swim a few lengths and dry off in a sunny garden. First time, of course, that Rufus has seen me do this and at first  I was worried that he was going to jump in too as he always likes to be near me.  His solution, fortunately, was to walk the length of the pool as I swam matching his stride to my strokes.  Bless.

A very nice evening at Caspers restaurant in Didim with Gaby, Graham, Kat (and Rufus) brought this enjoyable day to a close. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.