Tuesday: New Citizens

I used to do a lot of Citizenship Ceremonies in Vancouver but they’re not so common here.  But today I got to do my first one since arriving.  I really enjoy them as they feel so positive.  

Today I swore in two new citizens - this is one of them with her British army husband.  Prior to this, they were posted in Alberta, Canada, and had tried to get her sworn in there.  Covid intervened so it didn’t prove possible - the irony is that, if they’d succeeded, I would have sworn her in there, in Vancouver.  So we decided it was fate that it was me who should do it.

I didn’t manage to get a lot done today.  Truth is I’m a bit giddy and excited.  Belize is classified as a hardship posting on account of the limitations and physical difficulties of living here.   The recommendation is that you get a break out of country every three months.  For various reasons, I’ve been here nine months without a meaningful break.  

That’s about to change and I’m feeling very jazzy about it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.