Monday: Bricks

I’m on another course which means another early start.  I have to admit my patience is wearing thin with these.  Still, just a few to go.  Unfortunately, for this one, I had to be showered, dressed, at my desk and compus mentis by 4am….I think what irritates me is that I can’t just log off after the course, there are other things I need to attend to, which can make it a 12 hour day.  

The day started in a dramatic way when I came downstairs and found a large note on the floor, saying: ‘Darling, the hornet (Barbara) is somewhere in the kitchen.  Be careful!!’.  We have indeed called the hornet Barbara.  Suffice to say, we found her and all is well.

Today was a pretty good day though.  We got our medical clearance for next destination, which means that all the practicalities, such as being able to book flights etc, kick into place.  We have, barring any last minute glitches, bought my predecessor’s car, and we think we may have found a way to get Barney there……..

As for this blip, it’s our next door neighbour’s project.  He’s a tad taciturn - actually, make that grumpy.  It’s odd as we’re in the same line of work which brings with it a certain need to engage with people. 

He had all the bricks delivered recently.  Our conversation a few days ago went like this:

Me: Hi
Taciturn Neighbour:…………….
Me: That’s a lot of bricks……….
Taciturn Neighbour:………….
Me: What are you going to do with those?
Taciturn Neighbour: Build a brick wall
Me: (staggers in amazement at getting an answer) Figures

I’ve just set my alarm for 03:10 tomorrow……..deep sigh…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.