The Jewel in the Crown

I’m always happy in my ‘Happy Place’ but I’m at my happiest when the sun shines and transforms Stromness into a colourful  jewel of a town. 
With the sun rising here about 4am and wakening me this morning, the view from my bed was of a uniformly blue sky and the sea like a sheet of glass. The next time I looked the clouds had rolled in and the view was quite different. It was still cloudy as I met the ladies to swim. It was a very low tide, so low it vied with Porty in the distance needed to get immersed- the taller ladies were almost in the shipping lane.

Home, showered and breakfasted, the sun had a change of heart, put his hat on again and given us a beautifully sunny day with puffy white clouds and a coruscating sea. 

I spent time with EllyJay this afternoon. We had a walk in the sun and a sit in her garden before I left her to say hello to the current Mrs Creel who was finishing  work in the Orkney Cats charity shop. She alarmed me by saying she had left IainatCreel on the roof of their house but she didn’t say if she had removed the ladder - it  reminds me of the saying- ‘Up the creek without a paddle’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.