Glowing

We had a couple of pictures to collect from the Framing shop in Brampton so I decided that at long last we would go and see the windows at the church. I cannot think why I have never been before. I always knew they were there, even when our daughter lived in Brampton and I used to spend time visiting and taking and fetching grandchildren from nursery/school, but it took seeing the Pre-Raphaelite paintings in Tullie House to prompt me finally to go. 

The windows at St Martin’s Church were made by Morris & Co to Burne-Jones designs and they are definitely worth seeing. Pevsner says: ‘The windows are wonderful . . . richly coloured and jewel-like’. They are and they were glowing in the sunshine today. This is the main East window, with the Good Shepherd and angels; saints ‘St George in pink is particularly fetching’ (Pevsner) . . . and the glorious Pelican of Piety (very close to Art Nouveau I think). There are more windows all around the church. I particularly liked the more subdued and rather beautiful child-focused one (Extra). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.