WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Victoria Hall - Settle and extras.

The oldest Music Hall in the World!
https://www.settlevictoriahall.org.uk/

Last night we went to see Karine Polwart - what a wonderful concert with her supporting act Iona (who it turns out was brought up near here in Clapham)

Karine writes and sings about nature, the sea, the islands, trees and people.

A few years ago when we still lived in SW Scotland our choir Cairn Chorus were involved in the recording and performing of an album with Karine, Eliza Carthy and a group of traditional women singers. It was in the aftermath of the Scottish Referendum and was all about separation. The songs on the album are beautiful and thought provoking.
It was a great experience.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Songs_of_Separation

Now I am on the train to Glasgow and then a connection to Croy near where she’s moved to - I’ve never been there before - and then a short bus ride to Kilsyth. I have my old decorating togs with me as I will be painting walls!
I’m looking forward to seeing her new place although she says it’s a mess because of all the boxes and furniture and black bin bags everywhere. We’ll soon sort things.

Hope you’re all having a good weekend and enjoying the sun! :-D X

PS I bought the Guardian to read on the train.
I’m ranting under my breath on the train.
I can’t believe the audacity of that B****y Boris handing out peerages to all his corrupt mates! But the good news is that he has resigned along with that Nadine Dorries.
After all the damage they have done they get rewarded with titles to to their names. Any decent, honest person would refuse the peerage. How can they accept it knowing that they have lied to the police and the British public. It should not have been allowed. ):-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.