The Rollright Stones

For this week's Wide Wednesday RockArea asked for stones, so that's what we've got here. Lots of stones. Don't ask me how many. They are uncountable - in fact if you can count them 3 times and get the same number each time you can have any wish you like. There are three parts to the Stones - The King Stone, The Whispering Knights and these, The King's Men, so-called from a legend about a witch who turned a king and his army into stone. I realise I'm sounding a bit like freespiral here.

I was actually looking through my Lightroom collections this morning and doing some major housekeeping. Somehow I had tagged every image in the catalog with 'mrsfb', so I am having to remove her and then add her back in where she should be. Anyway this morning I did 2003, and there were a few shots of the stones from our previous visit. After twenty years I though we ought to check on them again, hence today's visit. I couldn't see any changes. Well they are over 4000 years old, so another 20 is probably not going to make much difference.

Update - 20 years has produced some differences in mrsfb (extras) - I can't believe she still has the same smile after another 20 years of living with me :-)

We drove on afterwards to a garden centre where we had some very nice home made ice cream. I also bought a small black hedgehog ornament which I though might be a nice doorstop for my study. The girl on the till saw it in my hand and thought it was an avocado. An easy mistake to make I said.

One year ago:
Kylie And A Sparrow
Our new Hidcote lavender is still small, but has some flowers already. It is really quite different to the lavender we had before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.