madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Alien

I had my hospital appointment today and I was so relieved to hear the bone had mended! It was a 5 hour process of waiting to be processed, waiting to be   X-rayed, waiting to see Dr, waiting to see physio! But there were a lot of people waiting so they got through us all remarkably well!
The Dr told me he was looking for white "fluffiness" - showing that the bone was knitting together! Well he saw it! He also exclaimed over how neat the scar was - told him I had the best surgeon! He was surprised I'd not seen a physio over the 6 weeks - and that he would refer me to one and that I should aggressively pursue it! I told him I had no problem doing that!
The physio was lovely and had me walking on a frame and crutches! This was quite nerve wracking - having the confidence to step out on my bad leg! I think this and the waiting led me into nearly having a panic attack! I had been miss-swallowing as I waited at each stage of being seen and this was the final step too far so to speak!
I was aware I had been getting more anxious as the appointment came closer. I was worried the swelling and heat in my knee and swelling and coldness in my foot could be signs the surgery had left me with some damage, also it has been giving me disrupted sleep. Waking after 2 hours to put a cold flannel on my knee to reduce the heat! 
This anxiety was matched with the logistics of arranging Oscars walking, particularly in the evenings. The 3 blokes are great but another 6 weeks I felt could be a big ask of them. I've been paying them in beer as they won't accept cash payment! Also him being let off lead by one walker really was doing my head in! Add in the worry over permanent damage and the possibility I would not be able to walk Oscar  for more than another 6 weeks if at all, meant my anxiety just peaked!
However a trip round the M&S food hall once we were finished helped me focus on something nice along with the fact all was well with the leg! VeganJo's husband had taken me in so I had bought him lunch there earlier and persuaded him to have a large Tiramisu for dessert!
Once home I felt emotionally and physically drained - but I had to contact 5 people to arrange Oscars walks for this and next week! Once this was done we had an M&S dinner and settled down to watch some soothing TV - The repair Shop and The Sewing Bee! I fell asleep and woke to wonder why people from the sewing bee were in the Repair Shop!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.