KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Poor old Ben

The fall from last night,
has fractured his shoulder.
Good grief. Please send Help!

He's been such a little sausage, he was so brave last night, stayed really still in bed and actually slept pretty well but he was so sore this morning.  He couldn't put any weight on it and moving around was painful.  We did the 111 thing and they said A&E, so off we trotted.  I really didn't expect them to say it was broken.  What a nightmare.  Poor Ben :-(  He was so good with the doctors, they put him in a sling and told him to keep his arm still, he sounded so compliant but of course, I know he will inevitably, at some point, get upset and rip off the sling or cause some other mayhem.  Sigh.  They said the trauma nurse will be in touch tomorrow to give us more hints and tips.  I did ask if they have any special needs training to support those who might not be able to adhere to the advice, there were blank stares.  So I guess that's a no.  I really hope he can manage the next 6 weeks.  So far, he is irritated by the sling but he can see that it is reducing the pain, so he's happy to have it on.. phew.  I'm keeping him off school until I get my head around it all.  Hopefully he can go back on Monday but school will need to amend his timetable from all the physical stuff he usually does (cycling, trampolining, climbing, swimming etc) to more sedate stuff.  He will not be delighted about that.  Anyway, he's not uncomfortable, so that is good and we'll work it all out.  Positive thinking etc etc.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.