Filet Mignon

Sous vide filet mignon, roasted beets, and broccoli. Wine: Château Troplong Mondot 2007.

Today's photo credit goes to my husband who snuck a picture of me torching the steaks. He used to be concerned for my safety when I did this, but he has gotten used to it and now enjoys the pyrotechnics. This is how I brown steaks after cooking them in vacuum sealed bags in a water bath (127 Fahrenheit for filet mignon). We are also indulging in one of our special occasion wines from our favorite Bordeaux producer.

This also marks my last meal at home until the end of July. We leave for an epic month long trip a week from tomorrow, and because of our broken fridge situation, I am giving myself next week off from cooking. Another advantage of this plan is that anything we don't put in the trash by Sunday night is going to have over a month in our garage to get fragrant -- hence the eating out rather than bringing food back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.