Cat sitting

It's been a quiet Saturday.  Morning dog walk bumped into two other dog walkers.  Made a pasta sauce with broad beans from the market today.

I'm feeding my neighbour's cats for a few days.  They are quite timid but did come to see me and be stroked.  

We've had a tortoise and seven cats over time including with my first two greyhounds.  It took a bit of training not to chase them with my first greyhound Otter.  They became great friends and I have a lovely video clip of one of the cats nuzzling Otter's head.  While on holiday on a Yorkshire farm we even got to the stage of Otter on my command 'leave', when a rabbit appeared, complying completely.  I was astonished but obviously pleased.  

The cats let my second greyhound, Murray know they weren't up for any nonsense and on day two of Murray's arrival he pretty much towed the line.  He did expect them to run and play with him but they weren't up for that.  Murray was also friendly with other cats who accepted dogs.  Not bad for dogs trained to chase.

Not sure if Kyro, greyhound number 3 will follow suit as he doesn't live with cats.  He is being less reactive to cats we encounter on our walks so there's a glimmer of hope there.

The extra is the framed portrait I drew of  the cats, Professor and Doc.  It hangs with the portraits of past dogs.

I'm hoping we'll have some rain for the garden this evening.  The forecast keeps shifting the exact time of arrival.

Pleasant evening everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.