Falklands Challenge

After the success of last years event where it was part of the Falklands Forty events and with participants requesting that it be held again the Challenge took place again today.
It is held to help to honour those who died in The Falklands War in 1982 and help to support The Veterans Charity.

In blisteringly hot and humid conditions and with Joshua accompanying me I, along with around a hundred others, set off at 1000 promptly.
The aim, to 'yomp' again from Instow Beach to RMB Chivenor to honour those who served in the South Atlantic between April and June 1982, especially the 255 UK service personnel who gave their lives during the conflict.
The route began on the beautiful Instow Beach and from there, follows the 'Tarka Trail' (South West Coast Path) through Yelland, Fremington, Bickington, Barnstaple, Heanton and finished at the striking memorial at RMB Chivenor.
Originally concerned that I might not finish in the four hours allocated I eventually felt a twinge of disappointment at the end that I hadn’t finish in three hours, I finished the ten miles in three hours but the actual distance is closer to eleven miles, three and a quarter hours it was then
Although I walked yomped it was a family effort;
Mrs S switched her shift in order to drive me up to the start point and then be there at the finish.
Sam came along to look after Paddy and bought me coffee and nibbles when I’d finished.
Joshua drove down from Worthy Down to walk with me and encourage me.
Paddy just enjoyed the day

We drove home again and in no time Joshua and I had showered and changed and were making our way down to the Sea Shanty Festival to meet up with Richard (Friday coffee) and friend Steve. I drank too much, didn’t eat enough but enjoyed the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.