Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Such a sticky day... and we were out weeding... After working with the others for an hour, I needed to change position for my feet and back (and bum... I'm waking up new muscles that have slept for a while, and they are compiling... ;) ). Same chore, weeding, but among the perennials and flowers instead. When I was coming back from throwing away the weed on the compost, a co-worker met me and said she found a (two actually, but one lacking a part) self watering pot and thought of me. We sell pots that's been given to recycling, and they arrive now and then, and she'd spotted one and thought of me. I found that so sweet! Yes, it's a small one, but perfect! So, I bought it and it's in my locker now to be brought home on Thursday.
After work I went to my old place of work, 'The Garden', to meet up with a friend and visit our old coworkers/friends. They made a rhubarb cake covered in edible flowers. Yes, I did eat two small ones and the petals of a rose. :D When we where leaving, we got an experimental vegan face cream (or body) that they've put together, and they want to hear our thoughts. My face cream is misbehaving, so it's nice with a new one! Even though the day got longer than usual, I was filled with positiv energy.
Made it just in time to catch my bus (literary, just before the bus arrived I stood at the bus stop, phew! Otherwise I had 30 minutes until next one.).
 A trip to the store before coming home, and I bough home 'new potatoes'. Not sure what the English word for them is, but it's a special treat during the summers in Sweden, and they're usually very cheep days before and on Midsummer. So, I stood there with some other customers, picking potatoes. Some wanted the small ones, and some a mix. One man in the group said to me that he used a plastic glove/bag (or something) to cover his hand and pick the potatoes with. (they are sold just picked from the field and not cleaned...). I told him I work in a garden, so I'm already dirty and a woman smiled at me and said she came from her allotment, and the potatoes were cleaner than gardening work. I agreed with her and smiled, and then left them. It was a really nice experience... just a group of strangers from different cultures and age spans, bonding over buying 'new' potatoes. :) 

If anyone's wondering about the line of gloves and such, I pass this with the bus every time and I needed to get a photo of it. My guess is that those are found and hung up to be found again.

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.