Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Unlucky for Some

Tiny, weeny I saw this on a leaf and thought initially it was an aphid! The same size!! A speckled bush cricket nymph no less!

Getting closer thinking, 'Ah brilliant a blip' it startlingly hopped away and I knew that I was on the wrong tack altogether with the aphid id. Then I started to clock loads of them - worryingly - as they will no doubt munch their way thro' the garden greenery!
Interesting because of the colours - the greeny /white body, and black spots with a brown stripe down the back. Spots - well not something I would expect from a hopper. They emerge in May as nymphs moulting in the summer to their adult form. Females lay their eggs in the bark of trees or stems where they overwinter.

I saw incredibly unfortunate bush cricket nymph caught in the web of an also minuscule spider. Apologies to those reading this before their supper - it was dismembered limb by limb.! Taking his time I might add...no rush! However maybe the spider's actually on my side so I'm the lucky one!

Apologies for changing the image - I liked this one better - (so did BBC's Springwatch :))..)maybe not as action packed but hey!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.