A Load Of Pollocks?

I thought I would go for another art based blip for today. A major figure in the abstract expressionist movement, Jackson Pollock was widely known for his "drip technique" of pouring or splashing liquid household paint on to a horizontal surface, enabling him to view and paint his canvasses from all angles. It was called all-over painting or action painting.
His extreme form of abstraction divided the critics: some praised the intimacy of the creation, while others derided the random effects or even accused him of using it as an excuse for being unable to draw or paint and that his artworks had no artistic merit whatsoever. It's very much a subjective judgement.
Having said all that I thought why not make my own attempt at a Pollock? I didn't have any canvasses or household paints available so I've used an old casserole dish (although it has actually been splashed with paint at one point) scattered with some plant based detritus and a handful of buttercup flowers from our garden. Your are entirely entitled to have your own judgement on my efforts - which could well be a one word answer that rhymes with pollocks! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.