Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2023 Thursday — LA Traffic

I headed for the Central Coast today in my car at just about noon (which we almost never drive to Cayucos) with two pups in the backseat. I knew it was a crazy time to be starting a roadtrip. I didn't keep exact tract of the trip time, but I think it took me about two hours to get to our normal first potty stop which is Kanan Road in Thousand Oaks; normally we're to that location in approximately 70 minutes. No biggie! I don't have a problem with heavy traffic.

Then I thought my next stop would be the In-N-Out Burger just off the freeway in north Santa Barbara. But I was wrong by one exit; I thought it was Patterson Road and it was the exit right before that -- Turnpike Road. Next time I'll know. So I did Plan B and stopped at the McD's in Buellton, which was 30 miles further. They have "code" type locks on their bathrooms, so that means I had to stop at the front counter to get a clerk to tell me the code. She yelled it out so quickly I couldn't understand her and had to ask her to repeat it. "It's 1-2-3-4-5," she again yelled at me.

So I took care of me and then I went back out to the car and took the pups out for a short walk, a few sniffs, and definitely some potty. I knew we were 70 minutes from our destination. I was tired and more than ready to be there. So I got us back on the freeway and was delighted to soon see our Highway 1 turnoff toward the coast and within a few minutes the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Shortly after 5:00 we were at our place.

I'm not used to doing all the unlocking procedure, so our arrival into the house was anything but smooth, but the pups were patient with me and soon we were all inside and they were ushered to the backyard to take care of business and then into the house for slurps of fresh water that I just poured into their bowl. I then retrieved my bags and various things from the car and also parked the car in the garage. I was thrilled to be off the highway and settled in at the place we call ours.

From California's Central Coast,
Rosie (with Mr. Fun in SoCal), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.