Blue Grass

Today's image was again taken in our back garden. I just loved the delicacy of the grass through the strong blue lines of one of our garden chairs.
It's also an excuse to write a blip about Bluegrass music. It's a genre of American roots music that developed in the 1940's in the Appalachian region of the United States, deriving its name from the band Bill Monroe and The Blue Grass Boys.
Like mainstream country music it largely developed out of old-time music, though in contrast, bluegrass is traditionally played exclusively on acoustic instruments and also has roots in traditional English, Scottish and Irish ballads ballads and dance tunes as well as blues and jazz.
I must admit it was not a music genre that I was entirely aware of until I heard The Chicks (previously The Dixie Chicks), the soundtrack to the film O'Brother, Where Art Though? and later when my brother bought the wonderful album Raising Sand - a collaboration between Alison Krauss, the bluegrass-country singer, and the rock singer Robert Plant.
One of the most covered bluegrass songs is I'll Fly Away - so I've tagged a charming version below by the Cotton Pickin Kids. Such fantastic musicianship and glorious harmonies. For some reason I love the way they just walk off camera at the end!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fY4avafDZUY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.