BURNET FRENZY

The six-spot burnet moths are all over the place once more, frantically making sure the same thing happens again next year. I was over in the old cemetery when I looked down and found a female emperor dragonfly resting in the undergrowth near my feet. I just had time to take a quick, uncomposed shot (extra) before she upped and sped away. There's no water anywhere near so I think she was just taking a break while passing by. There had also been an emergence of tiny grasshoppers and every step I took in some places meant dozens of tiny hopping things leaping out of the way. I watched where one of them landed and managed to get in close enough for another extra.

I realised that I need to get cracking with stocking up for our holiday the week after next. Temporary traffic and parking restrictions from the beginning of the week in preparation for the Tall Ships' visit to the town starting on Thursday mean that, for residents, moving around the town by car is going to be a nightmare, so I'll have to get all my shopping done this weekend. The Council say they have learned from shortcomings in the traffic and parking systems when we last had the Tall Ships in 2010, but I read that they're asking residents to work from home if they can and stay off the roads if possible so as not to add to the pressure. I'm not sure how the bus timetable is going to stand up to it all. We'll be heading out in the opposite direction on the Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.