Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Italy Day Four

Noisy people coming back in very late last night. Found out that yes, the opera was postponed for TWO HOURS, till after 11pm, while everyone sat in the rain, willing it to STOP. It eventually did, and the performance didn't end till after 2am, but many people had already left. Fingers crossed for us tonight!!!

We wandered out to see Juliet's balcony, which is only minutes from the hotel. A woman called Juliet came out at the right time. (No, I don't know her name). JR and I wandered on and found ourselves at the huge market again. Some light shopping was done (a scarf, sunhats fondled, and one bought later). Hazel has her shower after breakfast, so we met up with her later. Well, JR did, as I know they like to go shopping and I don't, particulary. But, admittedly, the shops are rather lovely, and on the High End of the scale.

I was happy to wander around this way and that, getting slightly lost, but no worries. The photo ops were multifarious. (Extras) I found the Duomo, but didn't go in. I also found out how to get up to the top of the big building with statues on the top - we'd seen people up there, but I'd assumed there were many steps. No! There is a lift, and at €4 it was worth it.

But before I'd gone up there I happened upon an ice cream shop, and yes, there were seats! I cannot enjoy an ice cream while perambulating. I asked for my usual,  - vanilla, and always feel I should apologise, as they have gone to the effort of making about 50 flavours. He fiddled about for ages, and then handed me a spectacular ice cream in the shape of a rose!! SWOON!

Back to the hotel for a sit down, then I wandered over to the arena and met the girls, laden with shopping bags. I exaggerate - one bag each, and JR's was a €10 sunhat. Hazel's was a rather more expensive item from one of her favourite shops.

They've gone off for more exploring - Hazel hadn't been to the balcony - and I'm resting, I have a Very Sore Toe. (6,503 steps). We're going to another opera tonight - Rigoletto, and I think we might avoid the rain. How lucky are we!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.