Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Fleurs de Ville

We all went down to the St James Centre - I wanted to see the floral displays that I’ve seen on Instagram, and JR wanted to have a look in the shops. Archie didn’t really have a choice. The others walked, but I took the bus, and wished I’d walked. It took SO LONG, because of road works, changed routes etc. The bus was crowded both ways - I’m thinking I really should start wearing a mask again - Covid is rampant in Scotland!

We had a wander round the shopping centre, which is splendid - all the big shop names are there, and just about all the spaces are filled. But I really wanted to see the decorated mannequins depicting famous women, including Mary Queen of Scots, Frida Kahlo and Marilyn Munroe. They were beautiful, though beginning to wilt a wee bit now, as they’ve been there a week already. It’s called Fleurs de Villes and it’s a worldwide competition.

Talking about wilting a bit - I needed a sit down and a cold drink, so we sat outside, er, Krispy Kremes… JR came back with a coke and a free sample… so we had our first (and last) Krispy Kreme. Now, I LOVE doughnuts, but I can confidently predict that I will never buy one of these.

By this time Archie and I were getting fed up - we’d seen enough, so headed for the bus home. We used the lifts because Archie doesn’t like the escalators. And the lifts were splendid - the walls constantly changed with colourful graphics and photos. Archie was intrigued. (Extras) We went up and down several times, and I wanted to take more photos, but people with pushchairs kept coming on. 

Home for a wee bit of tennis and a couple of episodes of Breaking Bad. Before walking down to the Thai restaurant again, and our neighbours and Pip came too. I’ve been looking forward to my Pad Thai there since last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.