fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Swallow

I've been away a lot recently but on those occasions that I returned home, a bird would frequently fly out from the wood shelter by the back door. (I don't use the front door except when I'm going out running.)

As my family will testify, I am pretty absent-minded, which, quite apart from drifting off mid-conversation, also means I'm not very observant. Hence, it's taken a couple of weeks for me to realise that the bird might be living in there.

So I took a peep and - lo and behold! - there is a nest up in the corner where the wooden roof meets the wall of the cottage.

So, in addition to all my other nonsense worries, I now feel bad about coming home, since every time I do, the swallow flies out and up into the sky. I hate feeling like I'm disturbing it. But I am hoping that soon I will hear the cheeping of baby swallows through my kitchen window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.