Changes after changes

With Leila at Number 25 I took a few days off.

Unused to driving outside my diminished comfort zone and tired to the bones, I drove shakily through the Quercorb, even more so down the hair pins towards Quillan and the Défilé du Pierre Lys always leaves my nerves shredded.  

I was happy to be on the long straight road through Les fenouillèdes, slowed down only by the string of villages and the outskirts of Perpignan and by lunchtime I was in Port Vendres, ordering moules frites and a pichet of white

This place is so full of Bobby. I toasted him and poured the first sip of my glass onto the floor beside me.

Bernie's first time here and everything frightened him; the seagulls, the floating jetties, the thunk of water on the bows of moored boats.

We went home via the cliff; garrigue, wild thyme and fennel and down to the crique through the prickly pears.  Nothing had changed.

Our home in la Citre hadn't changed either.  Except for Bobby not being there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.