Journies at home

By journiesathome

Invigilation

Maths.

Every 15 year old in France is currently doing Maths.

My lot have been in the room for 40 minutes and four of them are asleep.

The exam is officially two hours long but they have the right to leave after one hour.

Tiffany puts her hand up and asks me what the time is.  I indicate the huge clock hanging on the wall.  Tiffany tells me she can't tell the time annaologically.

Léna wants to go to the loo so I have to accompany her.

When I get back Lorelei is snoring audibly, but she's fresh back from Luxembourg having had a late abortion which might explain her tiredness.  Her paper is unmarked, apart from her candidate number.

 The room is full of snoring and sniggers now. 

Sarah manages to work out that the small hand is on the 3 and the big hand is on the 6, the entire class, bar one, hand in their copies and leave an hour before the allotted time. 

Ben Abdoulaziz remains, his head bent over his paper. 
Prior to the start of the exam I checked the pupil's ID cards and convocation letters.  Ben Abdoulaziz doesn't have ID.  He has a letter from the Préfecture stating that he was born in Abidjan and has immigrant status. I ask him how long he's been in France and he says one year.  I ask him where his family is and he says they're back in the Ivory Coast. 

This child came here alone and is now alone in an empty classroom, finishing off an exam the others gave up on in the first few minutes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.