Birthday girl

I had to leave Salford early, this morning, as I'd left my German textbook in Kirkby Lonsdale and I had homework to do before my lesson. On the way, I swung by Rivington services for a coffee, only to find it was closed.

It could be that was one of those 'sliding doors' events; if I hadn't stopped, maybe I'd have passed junction 31 on the M6 before the accident occurred, or perhaps, as the Minx pointed out, I'd have been in it.

But the reality was that the accident seems to have taken place as I reached the top of the M61and that I spent some time sat in stationary traffic on the M6, before having to go home via the A6: two and a half hours, all in.

I had just enough time to make a coffee and do my homework, and then it was time for my lesson. The lesson was good - Melanie ist eine gute Lehrerin - but left me with my head spinning as usual.

Happily, by this time Dan was up and about and Abi returned from birthday breakfast with her mum, so we went out on the deck for presents. It wasn't raining - well, not much - but Abi enjoyed her new umbrella, which has a wooden duck's head for a handle.

After that, we drove back to Salford - another two and half hour trip - arriving in time to take an Uber into town and meet the Minx, Charlie, Hannah, and Milly for birthday lunch at Rudi's (as per my Extra).

It was my favourite kind of afternoon, hanging out with the family, sometimes joining in, but also enjoying watching them all together.

And I was so proud of Abi, too. She's achieved so much this year, it takes my breath away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.