ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Mission Impossible

It’s been a long day today. Mum had an appointment with her bank this afternoon and I had agreed to go with her as she struggles to understand the jargon they use sometimes when investments are being discussed. She will be 89 on Saturday so todays visit was also a chance to deliver her card and presents. We had a good drive down from Kendal to Chester, and even had time for a leisurely lunch before picking her up. Which was when I realised the day might not be as straightforward as I’d thought it might be, as mum announced that she’d lost her glasses and couldn’t wear her hearing aids as there was an “issue” with her ears. So it was an interesting appointment, with the poor bank manager telling and showing me things and then having to wait whilst I translated everything into simple terms and explained it to mum at the top of my voice! However, we got through the meeting and I dropped her back home whereupon I asked her for a photo. Unfortunately, she couldn’t (wouldn’t?!!) hear me and all I have is a shot of her striding determinedly into the house. Please note the blue paint on the wall - a reminder of how many times she scraped the car before we persuaded her to stop driving!
With that mission accomplished earlier than expected, we decided not to dash straight back home but, instead, go to Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet for a bit of retail therapy followed by a visit to the cinema to see the new Mission Impossible film. Very good it was too, though it is only the first part of this final instalment in the series. No doubt the second part will tie up all the loose ends, just a case of waiting for it to be released in twelve months time!
Finally arrived home just after midnight, hence the late posting of this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.