Susten Pass

As today looked like the last blue sky day of my trip, I (Annie) decided to head up into the mountains while they were visible. I spotted a new cable car had been built from Grindelwald up past the side of the Eiger, joining up with the Jungfraujoch railway. Heading up there I had a whole large gondola to myself!

I spent a happy couple of hours wandering round the Jungfraujoch - top of the glacier and a beautiful viewpoint. I FaceTimed Chris at one point to share the view, with perfect 5G reception at 3,400m.

Heading back down was more of a bunfight with the crowds. I needed to charge the car (which I could have done in the car park while I was up the mountain, but time and needing to register yet another new app counted against me). I spent 80 minutes waiting in Interlaken for a charger, as the car in front in the queue decided to leave theirs charging to 100% while they wandered off. Charging to 80% is typically fast; the last 20% disproportionally slow. At least it was sunny and with a lovely view. My first time of looking enviously at the petrol pumps in 8 months with the car.

On the plus side, my drive back over the Susten Pass was bathed in evening light, so very pretty. The blip shows the section of pass near the top, with a fabulous waterfall cascading over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.