Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

What to do today with NO tennis? I've been in the habit of taking Archie out for a morning walk, so that I could watch tennis all afternoon. No excuse now. But it's still quite a good idea. So we set off across the Meadows. I always have very good intentions of walking really far, but the enthusiasm fades rapidly, usually as I near a cafe...

We had a wee rest in the Cafe Nero (NO pastries). Archie watched the staff studiously. I listened to my audiobook, which I'm enjoying. It's Polly Toynbee's autobiography - 'An Uneasy Inheritance' - which is quite illuminating about her upper/middle class upbringing, full of alcoholism, mental illness and casual child cruelty, scattered with the most impressive name dropping of all the most famous and influential people in the country during and after WW2 up to present day.

We took a different route home, (5,250 steps) via the dog friendly pub, but it wasn't open (t'was not yet midday).

In the afternoon, JR had to go into town for something, and then took Archie out for another walk when she came back. He's had a great day, including a very exciting tea time. He LOVES peas, and I was chucking them around the kitchen for him to catch/find and he was going bonkers. He's snoring in his bed as we speak.

I stopped to admire the prolific daisies (and a few dead ones) next to the pub that wasn't open...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.