Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Speed

Serendipity today; Sweetheart told me he'd received a phone call from the police telling him he has to pay a fine for driving too fast. I cannot imagine him driving too fast, nor can he. It turns out to be a photo from a speed camera from the early days of January 2019, when I was driving us up to the other end of Crete, onto Agios Nikolaos; € 50,- the fine. Crazy they are processing their data this late! The country is in need of money, it seems, otherwise they'd not do this; said Sweetheart to me.

And than there was another fine... for me here in Holland! I'd received a paper from Justice telling me I am fined for driving on a road where a permit is needed for doing so... that was in Delft in a residential quarter.
I could not imagine my wrong doing and had to phone the Delft authorities to ask what triggered this fine. After pondering i remembered being flashed on the street named leading thro' the residential area up to a friend of my children, but I couldn't imagine why I was flashed. It turns out that one needs a permit now to drive there; Delft is restricting car driving in every way and not being observant on all road signs costs you! € 119,- this one; it's only 3 weeks ago I made that mistake and the fine is delivered, what difference with the processing in Greece! Delft has to end its deficit for the realization of its railway station what made them bankrupt.  

This blip of a Beetle is from Land Art in Delft, made on another day than today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.