Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

So welcome!

Today my grandson and I went to Utrecht and back to the quarter where he lived and what he knows well. We passed by from the barber who remembers him well and he welcomed us in his shop. No customer in at that moment and he asked me to have a coffee and a chat with him, what was fine as we had time and he too. He told me that he'll go soon again to Marocco to visit his mother of 103 years of age and who suffers from dementia. She's well looked after by his siblings, but they cannot communicate with her as she's lost her knowledge of Arabic language and now speaks in Berber language, the language from her youth. He's learned himself some Berber and can communicate with her, what he treasures and he travels every 3 months down to see her and elevate her spirits as far as that's possible. His siblings marvel him for his language skills and welcome him lots for that too. We had a heartwarming encounter and my grandson was pleased too. This photo I forwarded the barber and I am sure he's happy with it.

The following we did was go to a favorite playground of my grandson and there he met a friend from his "old times' and they enjoyed playing together again; we had a super day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.