Today's the day

By sheilwill

Comma

Today's the day ....................... for a plethora

I think I've probably seen more butterflies today, than in the whole of the summer so far.  The conditions must have been perfect for them - a warm, still day with plenty of sun but not too hot.  The buddleia bushes were absolutely full to the brim with all kinds of butterflies, including the one above.  I have to admit that If I hadn't seen the one that Mr Knottman blipped a few days ago, I wouldn't have known that it was a Comma.  It has been so long since I've seen one, so it was specially nice! 

I've put in an extra of how it looks from above - but it's the underside of the wings that are particularly clever.  The Comma is one of the butterflies that hibernates as an adult in the open.  It is most effectively camouflaged by the pattern of the underside and the irregular outline of the wings, which give it a remarkable resemblance to a dead crumpled leaf.  I'm hoping that you will be able to see the white 'comma' (that gives it its name) on the underside, level with the middle of the body?  Well that just looks like a crack in the 'leaf'.

Beautiful - and clever.  The natural world is full of such creatures ........................!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.