One day at a time

By MikeSlade

DIY

I really don’t get on with DIY. It’s not my thing and I don’t like doing it. It usually ends in disappointment, frustration and depression when things don’t happen as desired. I don’t hate it like I do cross country running (from my school days) but it’s not far off. (Hate is a word I use very rarely use.)
Despite me saying ‘There’s plenty of life in them yet’, the Head Gardener decided that two old trellises either side of the path had rotted away and needed replacement. Showing willing I sourced a long piece of wood from my useful supply of Things That One Day Will Come In Handy in the garage/shed/store and the HG bought two new trellises. She had done  some dismantling of the old trellises and has been trying to press me for action this week. I resisted on Tuesday, yesterday we were busy but this afternoon was free. The weather seems fair too. Hmmm.
It was a joint venture. I did the ‘grunt’ and the Senior Foreman gave instructions. I used a saw, level, power drill, chair to stand on, pencil to mark things, crow bar (to lever old wood off the wall) and screws (predictive text just offered me screams!). 
You see the end result. The Head Gardener is very pleased and our son, who is excellent at DIY and can turn his hand to absolutely anything be it electrical, plumbing, roofing, building, fencing etc etc., said it, ‘Looks amazing’ when he receive the photos via WhatsApp. ‘Amazed it happened’ I think he means. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.