The Road Less Travelled

By kirstyk

Religious Education

Yup, I’m still wandering the cemetery after work, and today I encountered the Jewish sector. I found it fascinating, such a contrast to all the other religions who huddle companionably together in the main area. Lacking religious education, I had to google later to understand what was going on with the burial traditions; why only one person per plot; why piles of stones on the graves but not a flower in sight; why were all the gates onto the streets were locked and I struggled to find a way out from the area as it was fenced in …retrospectively realised that I was being disrespectful to be wandering there at all and for taking a photo. I hope any offended soul will forgive my ignorance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.