analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Reflection. Leitz Summicron 35mm V4

I looked up to notice the lampshades over the dining table reflected in a watercolor painted by my late mom back in 1970.  Every winter vacation, back then in South Africa, my family would pilgrimage to the little town of Grahamstown - now called Makhanda - so Mom could visit her big sister, Cousin Crispin25's mom.  Grahamstown, at that time, was a delightful little college town, filled with charming early 19th century architecture, and imbued with a very strong English character.  Mom was inspired by it, and would set off with her watercolor kit to record the scenes she had discovered in the backstreets.  I find this painting to be one of her most evocative, and enjoy casting a glance at it each day as I walk past.  It's nice to reflect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.