Ever decreasing circles

By Shelleylou71

3rd June 2013

It's all ended a bit emotionally today.

I went to visit Dad to sort out his medication for the week. When I arrived, the door wasn't locked. He had put the door on the latch so he didn't need to keep getting up and answering the door. This worried me slightly. Then I find he hadn't taken last nights tablets that I left by the bed. I sorted out the rest of his pill box that he always used, and left it by the kitchen table for the carers to prompt him to take when they were there. I did a bit of tidying for him, made him a cup of tea and left.

This evening I get a call from the carers. When they arrived and prompted him to take his tablets, he took tomorrow mornings instead of the evening ones. He doesn't know morning from evening. I couldn't tell them over the phone which tablet was what, but I knew what his sleeping tablet and quinine one was, so they gave him those and threw the rest away. They now want the tablets locked away and only they can give them to him.

I have to admit defeat, the care home was the safest place for him. We will start looking at some tomorrow :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.