Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Flower Crab Spider

Every day something seems to come up that interferes with my time to paint. Today it was...ants! I had started a quiche, caramelizing onions, cooking a few pieces of bacon and grating cheese. I left it out on the counter for later when I planned to roll out the dough for the crust  and put together the filling. When I returned to the kitchen, there were ants everywhere...especially in the food.  John came in and crawled around on the floor trying to figure out where they were coming from and vacuuming underneath the stove. We got them somewhat under control, but every time I picked up something to complete the crust ,a few more ants would emerge. By the time I sifted them out of the bacon and the cheese and assembled the quiche, wiping up ants and stepping over John, and cleaned up every vestige of food crumbs, my painting window of opportunity had closed...Ants might be the secret ingredient in our quiche tonight. I still have the odd ant crawling up my arm or out of my hair....

John found one of Spike's balls underneath the stove and he walked around with it for awhile but then he shoved it underneath the stove again, so it has been put away. This does not happen accidentally...he is very deliberate about it. I would say he enjoys watching us on our hands and knees fishing things out from under the furniture if he could see. I have a feeling he still enjoys it....

Dana and Jim's dog Blake is arriving tonight for a two week stay while Dana and Jim are in Italy. Will is arriving this evening with two cats, having moved out the house he and Chloe lived in in Santa Barbara. He will be at home while Chloe, having graduated in June figures out her plans for next year. At the moment it looks like San Diego may be their next destination. It has to be somewhere where Chloe can have her horse...not to mention their dog and the two cats....

As for us, we seem to stay at home and direct traffic. We contemplate various trips but aren't really too motivated. We're looking forward to a visit from Ruta and Neville and their two lovely daughters who arrive on Saturday. No blow up beds this visit. They are going to stay at Dana and Jim's along with Will and four cats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.