Grey Heron

The little female was the only heron over today. She had a massive feed before taking off to the loch. I made my way to the water to see if there were any other heron around. As I got to the mid point I heard a heron call and saw a heron landing at the old clearing (trees have been planted so it is not as clear now). As I got closer I heard the unmistakable sound of a  heron fledging/chick. As I got closer I saw the little female and behind her a very young heron making a real racket I threw a bit of fish to it, fully expecting it to take off, however it picked it from the water and ate it. I threw another peice which the little female went to get but left as the fledgling went bersek and took it. The little female moved a few yards out the way and let me feed the fledgling who completely calmed when had fed her the rest of the fish. Definately a first for me. I will check tomorrow to see if it is there again.
A few crows and the gull also got a feed.
The extra is a very blurry shot of the chick. I could not focus on it properly as I was more interested in feeding it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.