fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Ventimiglia from above

Some points of interest for when I look back on this post in the future.

I took this from the "top square" at the head of Garibaldi. 

Down there in the bottom right-hand corner is the new marina for the wealthy whose riches are not quite super enough to pay for anchorage at the harbours at Monaco or Nice.

If you look at the beach, about to thirds of the way up, you can see where Roia makes its diffident entry into the sea.

Do you see that orange building, top left? Just down to the right of it, you might be able to make out part of a glass cube. That is the top of the elevator that descends into the tunnel that emerges from the hillside by that roundabout (bottom, middle).

It is my suspicion that this is the work of the sinister Marine Development Corporation, which I think has its eyes on Ventimiglia. But perhaps the sun is going to my head, as it was around midday when I took this photo, on my way back from doing the recycling. Mad dogs and Englishmen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.