fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Arch

I've been reading a bit about the history of Ventimiglia, but what I'd love to see would be a visual chronology of its buildings*. The Church Of San Michele Arcangelo, for example, s over a thousand years old, although that in turn was built on an old temple.

It's easy to imagine the streets have existed in their current layout for all that time, but what really interests me is the way all the buildings seem to have piled on top of one another over time. It's hard to work out what was added then.

You get a taste of that in today's picture, where you can seethe remains of an old arch above the more modern one. You can see the remains of the wall but I wonder when the buildings were added?


*I'd love to see something along these lines for Edinburgh, too, especially the Old Town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.