Roll With It

By Falmike

Big Boys Toys

I drove both these buses today.

I remember as a young boy being on a 'Route Master' bus with my Mum. The ticket collectors had a ticket machine hanging round their necks and if you saw faint red lines appearing on the tickets it meant the ticket roll was running out. If you asked and the ticket collector was so inclined he would give you the remnants of the roll!!

For a brief instant on that day I gave up my dream of joining the Royal Navy to become a bus driver or bus conductor.

So today although I started off with some trepidation, pre-start checks, routes to remember, fares and ticket machine to work out and the driving to do. Within about an hour I was having a ball, the scenery from such a lofty perch out and around Cornwall was breathtaking, the sun shone and Liz, my mentor, was complimentary and looked after me.

It was like a small boys dreams come true.

If I had known it was going to be this much fun I would have left 'Oggymodo' years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.