Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Grazing in the sunshine

Today has been busy getting settled in again and then also starting to organise things for when we go to South Africa on Friday. I have a very busy week with quite a few appointments so as usual I have long lists of things to do which I am slowly ticking off!

After my morning gym and stretching - it has helped my sore back, shoulder and neck so much - and after breakfast we took Xena for a walk. She had fun sniffing familiar places again and seemed excited to be back in the woods again. We passed this horse at the bottom of our road, a woman leases some land there to keep her horses there. 

After our walk we went grocery shopping. In addition to the post-holiday restocking of the fridge, I also had to plan and buy ingredients for friends who are coming to dinner tomorrow night. 

While Gavin installed some black out blinds in Tommy's bedroom (he requested them as he sleeps badly if the room is too light) I set about updating the agenda for our camera club committee meeting this week and starting on the minutes. Each committee member sends me their quarterly report which I coordinate and summarise into the minutes, it is quite a bit of work but thankfully only happens every quarter.

I also started typing notes for Fiona on 'how to ...' do various things around the house, as she is moving into our house on Friday to look after Xena - she will have her own Vizsla with her but luckily Xena and Scooby get on very well so it won't be a problem for Xena to have another dog in 'her house'. We are meeting on Tuesday to go over every thing so hopefully all goes well when she is here.

I then packed my camera bag for our trip to South Africa - as we are going on safari I needed to pack sensibly as I need long lenses but I don't want my bag to be ridiculously heavy so I had to be selective, although I do need two camera bodies as it's not ideal to change lenses when out on the safari vehicle and your animal sighting is about to move off into the bush!

That shattered glass panel is an absolute mystery to us - the obvious explanation is that it happened due to temperature changes but it has been so cool lately so we have not had any extreme temperature changes. It is toughened safety glass that should not shatter as it did. Luckily it did not spread glass shards everywhere, as safety glass does not do that but rather just shattered (like a car windscreen). I hope it does not happen to another panel, especially whilst Fiona is staying here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.