Look Out

By chrisf

Speke Hall

Hospital day again, so my usual trip out after spending time with J.

Warm weather forecast and no rain so I visited nearby Speke Hall. A 16th century building which has somehow survived pretty unchanged it is now in the hands of the National Trust. Its 21st century location is wholly incongruous. The Hall sits in a beautiful setting, but immediately adjacent is busy Liverpool Airport and on the other sides it’s business parks and big sheds.

I walked around the grounds, viewed the Mersey estuary from the bund on the edge of the estate, and had a walk into part of the adjacent Speke Garson coastal park. I also visited the kitchen garden and bought a selection of excellent - and unusual - vegetables and fruit picked this morning.

I was going to have lunch at the excellent NT restaurant, but it was far too busy for comfort. There were loads of families and children (there’s great play equipment here) which was good to see, but I still have to be careful.

In terms of Bob’s theme, lots of odd numbers in this image - gables, topiary, chimneys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.