Extra Ordinary

By PhilippaJ

Sunday

A day much like yesterday with different detail. We had pre booked Stewart Lee and Paul Foot and had a couple of gaps to fill. We did this with some meal planning and booking two more musicals. Perhaps a little more singing and dancing than we had expected for our comedy trip but I don’t think you can have too much.

Stewart Lee was annoying. First off he was at a venue miles away from anywhere else so we completely lost the whole fab vibe we had yesterday. Not his fault thought, I assume. And then he was a bit of an arse. I know that’s some of the whole point, I’ve seen him before very happily not so much today. Should he ever read this, he would say something arrogant, smug and condescending about me, he did it for most of the show, it got a little dull. (Not about me in the show I hasten to add, just the audience in general). There were good bits, just not enough. (Several areas of my family will now be disappointedly shaking their heads at me and my crazy SL views, but there you go).

Anyway, then we got a cab back to the fun stuff, but not before I stopped dead in my tracks at the le crueset yellow window display. . What a stunner!! We went in so I could touch the £285 pans, Will asked how the double pan worked, I explained it was two separate pans, one on top of each other and then we left for a small sushi snack for the third day running and went to musical 1. Immediately followed by a Chinese meal - Will has required constant feeding on this trip. We were sat in a table for four and we were supplied with multiple seatings of Americans to join us. First off a student from Oregon on a year abroad studying fashion - first in Amsterdam and from Sept in London. She asked if there were any British foods she really should try - quickly saying she had already tried beans on toast. Made me laugh. She went to Silverstone last weekend for the MotoGP- a fine bit of travelling round. Then she thanked us for having dinner with her and left, to be replaced with a woman and I would guess her 8 year old son from New York. They were travelling the uk for 5 weeks and had come straight to Edinburgh from Durdle Door! We had a nice chat, her sons favourite bit so far had been the changing of the guards. She asked me if I had been to the Lake District, not since I was about ten I said so could really give her any up to date info. If feel I wasn’t a very good uk rep with no food or lake recommendations. I told oregan girl where to go in Brighton though.

Enough of the socials- Paul Foot was v funny and touching, the last musical was fab. It was in the museum auditorium so had red velvet comfy seats, air conditioning and a programme!! Not what we have been used to. And now we are done! Train home tomorrow morning, it’s been such a great couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.