Sawdust (Day 3018)

Back to the bathroom job this morning, where I spent far too long scooping up sodden fragments of chipboard flooring. The space below the chipboard and between the joists has been filled with sheets of polystyrene, and today I learned that polystyrene can absorb water.
With the majority of the floor and polystyrene out of the way, I could assess the joists. They are all saturated and need to be replaced. The only good thing about them is they are sitting directly on a concrete base, so I can replace them myself. They are however made up of a really odd size of timber which I can't get off the shelf. I spent lunchtime buying timber and a table saw to cut it down to the right size.
The afternoon passed by in a cloud of sawdust while I made a start on the floor joists.
The best bit of the day was arriving home at the same time as my beautiful wife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.