Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey heron

When I went up to the loch today there were no Heron around at all. I made my way to the clearing and it was completely silent. There was nothing swimming around the loch and no heron calls at all. A complete contrast to yesterday (there was an entourage of crows following me for biscuits). At the clearing I saw the little moorhen approaching and I gave her some fish which she picked up and swam off with to a quieter place. Then finally the nervous male heron flew over. I started feeding him and he got a fair bit before taking off because someone walked past. I made my way back but there was still nothing at the other end. I decided just to head back and see if the nervous male was still around. He was and so was the little moorhen. I gave them some more fish then decided just to head home and save the rest of the fish until tomorrow. As I was approaching the the foot of the loch I heard the distinctive grunty sound the herons make when the are hungry. I turned riound and the adult male and the young male were waiting. I split what was left of the fish between them then headed home.
The shot today is the nervous male with the little moorhen in the top right. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.