I'm @goNORTHFEST...

in Inverness. A clamjamfrie of creativity if ever I saw one.
Through my good pal Louise Wyllie, daughter of the late great George, I've been up here doing some spreading of the word about this mini Cannes meets South by South West.
If it was happening in the central belt of Scotland or in London then there would be red carpets and flashbulbs popping all roads.
Aspiring musicians, filmmakers, writers, fashion designers, makers and more, convene for two days to hear industry names talk and give advice. Then, there's the networking that takes place in-between, which is invaluable. Often in life, it's not what you know, it's who you know.
The thing about goNORTH is that you might be chatting to a guy in the bar and then you discover he used to manage Madonna's record label.
As I type this, Doug Johnston, the man who puts the music programme together for Summerfest in Milwaukee, the US' biggest music festival, is standing behind me.
Both nights see live free music from unsigned acts play across Inverness.
It is braw, I tell you. Braw.
There's a real energy and a warmth which you might not get at any other location. It's Highland and I like it!
Anyway, tis nearly the witching hour and I'm blethering. It's been a long day.
This pic shows singer/songwriter Willie Campbell on stage at the Encore Hotel.
Check him out. He's goNORTH gold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.