Freedom

As predicted, the weather today has been mainly wet. A day not to be so bothered by sitting at a desk staring into a computer screen.

Merlin was bothered by the lack of outdoor activity, despite being shown the pouring rain on several occasions - at which point he retreated inside. He finally got his walk late this afternoon, as did I on a short trip into Emsworth to buy a card for my niece who recently received her GCSE exam results.

It proved rather a thrill to be out on a week day, although most shops were closing by the time I got there. The wonderful second hand bookshop proved to be my saviour with a plentiful supply of artistic greetings cards. I must return to peruse the books more fully.

Afterwards, as I was in town and the rain had paused, I wandered down to the quayside. It was quite empty, just a scattering of walkers who were no doubt as relieved as I was to be getting some exercise and fresh air after being cooped inside. It felt a wonderful freedom to be there, even in the damp dullness of a wet August day. I wondered why I don’t escape like this more often, but then may be it wouldn’t have the same thrill!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.