Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Spot the Ball (easy)

I couldn't wait to get outside this morning with my new toy, to try out some action shots. There is always some sort of sport going on in the Meadows, but I quite fancied cricket, as you know where the action is going to be.

Just kids' organised games as we went through, so we went to the very lovely Peter's Yard for a scone and coffee and peaceful ambience (no muzak).

As I came back, there was a hockey game going on, so I took lots of shots, one of which I had lined up for today. The EVF is pretty useless will take a bit of getting used to, as it's so small, but it helps to hold the camera steady when it's clamped to your face. However, I have found that wearing it down at waist level, using the LCD screen, holds it pretty steady too. I tried a few burst shots, but couldn't get it to work.

On the way home after my zooming action shots, I took some macros of flowers and some portraits of Ruby the wee Westie. All with the same lens!

I checked out on the manual how to do bursts, and after a quick whizz around tidying up for our visitors this evening, I set off again hoping to find cricket. Yes! It was there! As soon as I arrived, however, they all clapped and walked off. Fortunately it was only lunchtime.

I took some shots of a football game, which I could have used, as many of them showed fast running, but I went back to the cricket. I chose this one, as it shows the ball as well. Although the bowler's trousers look a bit dodgy.

So I'm very impressed today. It's hard to see if they're all right on the LCD screen, so it was with trepidation that I uploaded them to my computer.

This is SOOC, but I should have maybe just toned down the girl in white in the background.

Pals coming tonight to give us the gen on Tanzania, as they went last Christmas. Exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.