Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Facing the bowler

Another morning of a school cricket match, and although it was sunny the wind was icy so we all sat huddled in our chairs shivering and watching the score board hoping the overs would magically fly past.

To keep warm I walked around the pitch and took some photos - you can't really get too close to the action unless you have a super zoom lens which I did not have - nevertheless, here is my son's friend facing the bowler, while my son Thomas is the other batsman. Thankfully the game ended before the overs ran out with my son's team winning and we could go home to lunch.

Sadly I noticed today that the pair of swans who live on the river in our village are no longer sitting on eggs...and there are no baby cygnets. They have been sitting on eggs for weeks now and I have been anticipating the arrival of their babies for some time, but now no longer. I presume a hungry fox was involved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.