KathyH58

By KathyH58

September 4

I decided to have a walk on the Salt Marsh Trail today, it is part of the Great Canada Trail. A few women saw me with my cameras and told me that there was an egret in a tree near the bridge, but he was too far away for them to get a photo with their phones. When I got closer to the bridge I started looking in the trees and found him still sitting there. My SX50 was at the maximum zoom for this photo.
He had been resting and preening, then he stretched his neck out watching something. One of the blue herons flew in and landed at the top of another tree. As I was taking some photos of the heron, a second heron flew in and landed at the top of another tree.
Both the herons and the egret look so awkward when sitting in a tree, yet so graceful when you see them in the water.
After I came home I did some work in my own garden, plus I loaded the truck ready for work this week.
There has been a group formed for seniors looking for travel partners, it could be local day trips or longer trips. I decided to join, it would be nice to have someone to go on some day trips with me. There is some cross over already, some members of the brunch group have been attending the travel group events. Today, one of the members had a BBQ at his place. Twelve people showed up, which is not a bad number. It gave people more of a chance to talk and get to know each other.
The homeowner who hosted the BBQ has a nice property, lots of gardens and nice plants, but he doesn't do any weeding. When I arrived I was tempted to give him my card so he could hire us to clean up the gardens. But this is a guy in his mid-60's who stays in hostels (not hotels) when he travels and he doesn't eat out when he travels either, so that tells me he hates spending money. It was so hard for me to sit there, I really wanted to explore the gardens. At one point, there was a greenhouse there, the frame is still there, but it is overgrown with weeds now. It is sad to see a property neglected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.